Windows & Other OS

How to factory reset an iPhone or iPad

If you need to sell or give away an iPhone or iPad, you will need to completely erase the device before giving it to a new owner so they can use it. With a factory reset, all private data is erased and the device acts like new. Here’s how to do it.

Steps to follow before restarting

Before restarting your iPhone or iPad, make sure you have a backup of the device. You can backup your data using iCloud , Finder (on Mac) or iTunes (on Windows) . Or you can transfer data directly between your old device and a new one using Quick start .

Thereafter, You will need to disable “Find my iPhone” or “Find my iPad”. This officially closes the device from Apple’s “Find My” network that keeps track of your device’s location if it is lost or stolen. To do so, open Settings and tap on your Apple ID name. Then navigate to Find My> Find My (iPhone or iPad) and toggle the switch next to “Find My iPhone” or “Find My iPad” to “Off.”

How to erase all content and reset iPhone or iPad

To perform a factory reset, first open Settings on your iPhone or iPad.

In Settings, tap ‘General’.

In Settings on iPhone or iPad, tap

In general, scroll to the bottom of the list and tap “Transfer or reset iPad” or “Transfer or reset iPhone”.

Touch

In Transfer or Reset settings, you have two main options. “Reset” opens a menu that allows you to reset certain preferences without losing personal content stored on the device (such as photos, messages, emails, or application data). That could be useful if you plan to keep using the device and just want to reset specific preferences.

But, if you are going to give away or sell the device to a new owner, you will want to completely erase all your personal data and settings on the device. To do this, tap “Erase all content and settings”.

Touch

On the next screen, tap “Continue”. Enter your device passcode or Apple ID password if prompted. After a few minutes, your device will be completely erased. When it reboots, you will see a welcome setup screen identical to what you would see if you just got a new device.

Now that your iPhone or iPad has been erased, it is ready for you to gift it or sell it . Good luck!

RELATED:   Check water resistance - Computer Culture

Related posts

Leave a Comment