By default, when you take photos in the Camera app or other applications that use the camera (for example, sending iMessages), iPhone takes a Live Photo, a variant of a photo that also includes a short video of the moment. The function is exciting but not always useful, and such “live photos” take much more space than usual ones.
Turning off Live Photo once is easy – click on the corresponding icon while shooting, but next time the function will be turned on again. This tutorial details how to permanently disable Live Photos so that iPhone takes regular photos.
Disabling Live Photos permanently.
As mentioned above, one-time disabling of Live Photo is performed by pressing a button in the camera interface. The button itself is indicated in the image below.
However, the next time you start the camera, when sending photos in messages and other shooting tasks, the function will be enabled again. To prevent this from happening, you need to do the following:
- On your iPhone, go to Settings> Camera.
- Go to the “Saving settings” section.
- Turn on the “Live Photo” item.