Windows & Other OS

How to block your Facebook profile

G.Tbov / Shutterstock.com

A form of limit people’s access to your profile of Facebook is to block your profile. Doing so severely limits what the public can see on your profile. We’ll show you how to do it on Facebook on desktop computers and mobile devices.

Note: As of this writing in December 2021, Facebook has yet to implement the ability to block a profile in all regions. If you don’t see the lock option, you haven’t received the feature yet.

What happens when you block your Facebook profile?

When you block your profile, only your Facebook friends can view content on your timeline . The full size version of your profile photo and cover photo is also visible only to your friends. All posts that you have shared with the “Public” setting will change to “Friends”.

Facebook will only display certain sections of the About Information section on your profile. Your Stories will only be visible to your friends. Will be activated functions like profile review and tag review .

Any new posts you create on your account will only be shared with your friends. However, keep in mind that blocking your profile does not change the way people find you on Facebook .

Lock your Facebook profile on desktop

If you are on a Windows, Mac, Linux, or Chromebook computer, use the Facebook website to block your profile.

To do so, first, open a web browser on your computer and launch the site of Facebook . If you haven’t already done so, please log into your account on the site.

In the upper right corner of Facebook, click your name to open your profile page.

On the profile page, in the row of tabs below your name, click the three dots (which are at the far right of the list of tabs).

Click on the three dots on the profile page.

In the menu that appears, select “Lock Profile”.

Click on

You will see a “Lock your profile” window. Here, click on “Lock your profile”.

Please select

And your Facebook profile is now locked. Close the blocking profile window by clicking “OK”.

Please select

Are you ready. Now only certain parts of your profile are visible to the public.

If you ever want to unlock your profile, click on the three-dot menu> Unlock Profile> Unlock> Unlock Profile.

Select the option

Block your Facebook profile on mobile

If you use an iPhone, iPad or Android phone, go to the Facebook application to block your profile.

Start by opening the Facebook application on your phone.

In the app, tap on the three horizontal lines. If you are on an iPhone or iPad, you will see these lines in the lower right corner of the app. If you have Android, these lines are in the upper right corner.

Touch the three horizontal lines on the Facebook application.

On the “Menu” screen that opens, tap your profile at the top.

Touch the profile on the screen

On the profile page, under your name, tap the three dots.

Touch the three dots on the profile screen.

You will see a “Profile Settings” page. Here, tap on ‘Lock Profile’.

Please select

On the ‘Lock your profile’ screen, tap ‘Lock your profile’.

Touch

And you have successfully blocked your profile from people who are not friends on Facebook. Enjoy!

To unlock your profile, simply tap on “Unlock Profile” where you clicked on “Lock Profile” in the previous steps.

Tap the option

While managing Facebook privacy settings, did you know that you can make your past Facebook posts more private ? There is an easy way to do it, as explained in our guide.

RELATED:   How to make the Google Assistant read a website

Related posts

Leave a Comment